banner image


On 1 July, 2017 the New Zealand Fire Service, National Rural Fire Authority, all rural fire districts and territorial rural fire authorities amalgamated under the one organisation, Fire and Emergency New Zealand (FENZ).

While Council had previously held rural fire responsibilities, that role is now with FENZ. For more information on rural fire, to apply for a permit, or to check the fire season status in your area, visit the FENZ website.