banner image

Our Smokefree Environments

As a Council, we are committed to promoting positive health choices and outcomes for our community. We believe the children and young people of our district have a right to be able to enjoy facilities provided by Council in a smoke-free environment.

Under our Smokefree Outdoor Areas Policy, the following public areas are designated as smoke-free (includes both tobacco and e-cigarettes).

All Council Playgrounds

Reserves and Domains

Sports Fields and Courts

  • Ashburton Domain
  • Ashburton Skate Park
  • Argyle Park
  • Digby Park
  • EA Networks Centre – outdoor sports courts
  • Robilliard Park.


All Council supported events will promote smoke-free through advertising and signage.

Council Buildings

Smoking is not permitted within 10 metres from the entrances and exits of the following buildings.

  • Ashburton Art Gallery and Heritage Centre
  • Ashburton District Council Administration building
  • Ashburton District Council Chambers
  • Ashburton District Council Library.

EA Networks Centre

Smoking is not permitted in the following locations at the EA Networks Centre:

  • 10 metres from the entrances and exits.
  • The entire car park
  • Outdoor sports courts.

Other Smokefree Areas

The Council has also declared other areas under its control to be smoke-free, including inside council-owned eldery housing units (Elderly Persons Housing Policy 2017) and in footpath areas used for alfresco dining (Use of Footpath for Alfresco Dining Policy 2017).

Find out about the national Smokefree initiative at