Ashburton District business awards deadline approaching

Published: 26 November 2021

ANZ Ashburton Branch staff supporting the Ashburton District Business of the Year Awards are (from left) George McDonald (ANZ Relationship Associate), Natasha Wilson (ANZ Commercial Banking Assistant) and Nick Horsley (ANZ Business Manager Commercial Banking)...

Share this article

Mid Canterbury retailers and business people wanting to be part of the Ashburton District’s ANZ Business of the Year Awards are being reminded that entries close next week, on Tuesday 30 November.

The awards have six categories, plus an overall supreme winner, as well as awards for a future business leader and the people’s choice for retail.

Ashburton District Council is partnering with ANZ and Ri Ra Events to present the awards and the winners will be announced in February 2022.

Council Community Services Group Manager Steve Fabish said businesses thinking about entering still had time to do so.

“There are some supporting documents that also need to accompany entries, but they are not onerous and are indeed a good chance to reflect on what has been achieved, despite the obvious challenges that covid presented.

“These awards are really a way to celebrate everything that is great about our district and the smart businesses that we have operating here.”

Award categories are primary industries, export, tourism, manufacturing, not-for-profit and technology and innovation. There will also be a supreme winner.

Category finalists will be announced in December and the winners revealed at a gala event on February 18, covid permitting.

Eleven businesses are currently doing battle for the People’s Choice Award for retail, details of the businesses and their voting codes can be found on the website Voting for the People’s Choice Award also ends on 30 November.

ANZ Business of the Year Awards Categories:

Excellence in Tourism Award – sponsored by NZ Ski

Excellence in Technology & Innovation – sponsored by Lynda Stephenson Accountants

Excellence in Not For Profit - sponsored by Naylor Love

Excellence in Primary Industries – sponsored by Catalyst Performance Agronomy

Excellence in Export Award – sponsored by Croys

Excellence in Manufacturing Award – sponsored by HEB

People’s Choice Award for Retail – sponsored by Media Works

Future Business Leader Award - sponsored by Sheep Milk New Zealand

Follow Us

Upcoming meetings


15 December 2021, 1.00 pm


1 December 2021, 1.00 pm

BOARD: Methven Community

29 November 2021, 10.30 am


17 November 2021, 1.00 pm

COMMITTEE: Audit & Risk

10 November 2021, 1.30 pm

Road Closures


from 13 Feb 12:30 to 13 Feb 13:30


from 30 Jan 6:00 to 30 Jan 18:00


from 13 Dec 7:00 to 17 Dec 18:00


from 30 Nov 6:00 to 2 Dec 19:00


from 29 Nov 19:00 to 4 Dec 6:00

View all Road Closures | Live map

More News

View all news