banner image

Local Body Elections

Triennial Elections 2022

Key dates

Key dates for the 2022 elections are
From 13 July Elections will be advertised and nominations called
15 July Nominations open
19 July Candidate Information Evening, 5.30pm in the Council Chamber
12 August Nominations close at midday
16-21 September Voter packs mailed to electors. Voting opens
8 October Voting closes at midday. Progress result asap thereafter
By 13 October ​Official result released
From 13 October Official result advertised.​​​

Are you enrolled?

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on council’s electoral roll as a residential elector.  If you need to enrol or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll you can:

  • Visit and use your New Zealand driver license, New Zealand passport or RealMe verified identity to enrol online
  • Call free 0800 36 76 56 and ask for a form to be sent to you

If you’d like some help with the enrolment forms and checking your online details, please call into the Ashburton Public Library on Havelock Street where staff are available to assist you.

If you pay rates on property within the council area but live outside that area, you may be eligible to enrol as a ratepayer elector. A copy of the ratepayer enrolment form can be downloaded here.

Information for Candidates

Have you thought about standing for the Ashburton District? If elected, you could play a crucial role in our District’s future through the decisions you help make over the next three years.

Any New Zealand citizen over the age of 18 and enrolled on the parliamentary roll can stand for election and our community needs representatives of all backgrounds and walks of life. Will you answer the call and make a difference in Mid-Canterbury?

Local elections will be held on 8 October, it’s now time to think about standing! Nominations from 15 July until Friday 12 August.

Candidates Information Evening

We're holding a candidate information session on Wednesday 19 July, to provide people thinking about standing with all the information they’ll need to know.

Learn all about the election process from Electoral Officer Anthony Morton. This is an opportunity to ask questions and find out what’s involved with representing your community.

Wednesday 19 July, 5.30pm
Ashburton District Council Chambers
137 Havelock Street, Ashburton
Facebook Event

Local Government Elections Webinar

This webinar is for those who are thinking of running for election. It will help you understand what the role involves and how you can develop their skills to fulfill it. The webinar will also be available to be watched via a recording after the event. Presented by School of Government at Victoria University of Wellington

Thursday 30 June, 8.30pm - 10.20pm

Resources for Candidates

Roles t​o​​ elect

Elections will be held for:

  • One Mayor
  • Five councillors to represent the Ashburton Ward
  • Two councillors to represent the Eastern Ward
  • Two councillors to represent the Western Ward
  • Five members to represent the Methven Community Board
  • Six members to represent the Ashburton Licensing Trust​​
  • Two members to represent the Mid Canterbury Constituency of the Canterbury Regional Council (ECan)

In the 2018-19 Representation Review, the number of councillors in the Ashburton District reduced from 12 to nine and some changes were made to ward boundaries. The Ashburton Ward has been extended and includes the area around Lake Hood. The boundary between the Eastern and Western Wards was shifted closer to State Highway One.

Ward boundary map​s

​See maps showing the district's wards, community board and licensing trust area


See here for the Elected Member Remuneration 2022-23

More Information

For more information about enrolling and voting, including other language options:

Electoral Officer

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer
Phone: 0800 398 683 or Email:​