Community honours awards recipients announced

Published: 16 September 2021

Share this article

Four people and two organisations will be celebrated at this year’s Community Honours Awards, which recognise the contributions and achievements of those who go above and beyond for our district.

Trevor Croy and Patricia McLaren will each receive the Mayor’s Award for Public Service, while Mid Canterbury Rural Women will receive an Ashburton Medal and Neroli Cross, Jim Henderson and KidzMethven will each receive a Civic Award.

The Mayor’s Award for Public Service is given to people who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the district.

Mayor Neil Brown said Mr Croy and Mrs McLaren had been special stewards of the district for a long time and were people of special note, having helped numerous causes with their special skills and dedication.

“It will be a pleasure to recognise their voluntary work over many, many years. The district is a much better place for their contributions.”

Only one Ashburton Medal is awarded each year and Mid Canterbury Rural Women has made a big contribution, especially to the rural community.

The Civic Awards recognise substantial service, usually of a voluntary nature or beyond normal employment, benefiting the district and its people.

Mrs Cross is recognised for her contribution to the district and Mr Henderson for the same, in particular in rugby circles. KidzMethven established the Methven Skatepark.

“I was thrilled with the high calibre of the nominations for this year’s awards,” Mr Brown said. “It is such a pleasure to see all of the hard work happening in our community, thanks to the selfless efforts of volunteers who carry out their duties in a very humble manner. They are all very worth recipients.”

A presentation ceremony will be scheduled when there is more certainty around Covid alert level restrictions for public gatherings.

Follow Us

Upcoming meetings

ADVISORY GROUP: Biodiversity

18 August 2022, 1.00 pm


17 August 2022, 11.00 am

COMMITTEE: Audit & Risk

10 August 2022, 1.00 pm

Council - Activity Briefings

10 August 2022, 9.30 am

COMMITTEE: Road Safety Co-Ordinating

2 August 2022, 9.30 am

Road Closures


from 27 May 10:00 to 31 Aug 22:00


from 16 Jun 6:00 to 30 Sep 20:00


from 22 Jun 7:00 to 30 Aug 20:00


from 12 Jul 13:00 to 14 Jul 18:00


from 12 Jul 13:00 to 14 Jul 18:00

View all Road Closures | Live map

More News

View all news