Voting open for Methven Community Board by-election


Eligible voters in Methven are urged to check their mail over the coming days for their voting papers, as voting is now open for the Methven Community Board by-election.

The by-election is being held to fill one vacancy on the board, with three candidates standing for election. The Methven Community Board consists of five members to represent the Methven township. Only four nominations were received for the board when nominations closed for the triennial elections in October last year.

Voting papers have begun being mailed to eligible electors from 27 January, and they must be filled out and returned by 12 noon, Tuesday 18 February ​to be counted.

Ashburton District Council Chief Executive, Hamish Riach is encouraging residents to complete their voting papers on time.

"The Methven Community Board advocates for the town's interests and brings local decision-making closer to residents. It is now up to voters to decide who should fill the final vacancy and represent them on the board.

"Please don't leave it too late. Postal votes must in the ballot box by 12 noon sharp on 18 February, so give yourself enough time for your papers to be returned in the post."

Completed voting papers should be posted by Thursday 13 February to reach the Electoral Officer on time by 12 noon, 18 February.

Voting papers can also be dropped into the ballot box at the Council office (5 Baring Square West, Ashburton) during normal office hours until 12 noon, 18 February. A ballot box and special voting facilities will be available at the Mt Hutt Memorial Hall (160 Main Street, Methven) on Friday 14 February from 2pm to 5pm and on Tuesday 18 February from 9am until 12 noon.

The electoral roll for the by-election is available for inspection at the Council office and Ashburton Public Library, as well as the Methven i-Site. Special voting facilities are also available at the Council office until voting closes on Tuesday 18 February.

Voting papers should arrive in mailboxes between 27 January and 1 February. If eligible voters have not received their papers by 1 February, they should contact the Council on 03 307 7700.​
Page reviewed: 28 Jan 2020 10:36am