Nominations open for Methven Community Board by-election


​Nominations are now open for the Methven Community Board, with nominations welcome until 12 noon, Monday 23 December.

The Methven Community Board consists of five members to represent the Methven township. Only four nominations were received for the Board when nominations closed for the triennial elections in October this year and a by-election has been called to fill the remaining vacancy.

If more than one nomination is received, an election will be held by postal vote and polling day will be on Tuesday 18 February, 2020.

Council Chief Executive Hamish Riach says residents with a passion for Methven and its community should consider putting their name forward for election.

"The Methven Community Board advocates for the town's interests and plays a vital role in bringing local decision-making closer to residents. I encourage people who want to make a difference for Methven to be nominated for this important role on the Community Board."

To be eligible to stand for election, candidates must be a New Zealand citizen and be enrolled on the New Zealand electoral roll anywhere in the country. Their two nominators must be enrolled to vote in the Methven Community Board area.​

The preliminary electoral roll is available for inspection until 23 December from the Council office, 5 Baring Square West, Ashburton; the Ashburton Library, Havelock Street, Ashburton; and the Methven i-Site Visitor Centre, Main Street, Methven.

Nomination forms and candidate information are available on the Council website

Page reviewed: 20 Jan 2020 10:51am