New Ashburton District Councillors sworn in

26/10/2016 12:00 a.m.

Ashburton District’s newly elected Mayor and Councillors have been officially sworn in at the inaugural Council Meeting today.

Mayor Donna Favel, alongside Deputy Mayor Neil Brown and Councillors Thelma Bell, Leen Braam, Stuart Wilson, Russell Ellis, Peter Reveley, Selwyn Price, Lynette Lovett, Mark Malcolm, Liz McMillan, Alasdair Urquhart and Diane Rawlinson all took their turn in declaring to serve Ashburton District during the Meeting.  

Methven Community Board Members Hamish Gilpin, Sarah Lock, Sonia McAlpine, Dan McLaughlin and Ron Smith (pictured) also made their declarations during the Meeting.

“It is immensely humbling and exciting to be officially sworn in as Ashburton District’s new Council. I and my fellow Councillors have made a declaration to serve the community to the very best of our ability, and we fully intend to honour that commitment throughout our term,” Ashburton District Mayor Donna Favel says.

“It is an honour to be elected to represent this District, and I am proud of our Councillors’ enthusiasm to get things underway, particularly during what will be a big learning experience for so many new faces around the table.”

The first Council Meeting will be held on Thursday 24 November 2016. 


Page reviewed: 27 Oct 2016 10:22am