Level one and two water restrictions lifted

29/03/2017 1:00 p.m.

​Wednesday 29 March, 2017

Ashburton District Council is removing the Level One and Two water restrictions imposed throughout the district, effective immediately.  

There is now no water restriction in place for residents on Council-supplied water schemes in Ashburton, Hakatere, Methven, Rakaia, Chertsey, Fairton, Hinds and Mt Somers. Residents in Mayfield, Dromore, Montalto and Methven Springfield will remain on their respective restrictions.

“Summer had been particularly dry throughout Mid-Canterbury, but with the high rainfall we’ve experienced in recent weeks, we are confident most communities in the district no longer require a water restriction at this point in time,” Council Assets Manager Andrew Guthrie says.

“We encourage residents on these schemes to continue being water-wise, however only using a hose on alternate days or at night is no longer necessary.”

The Level One water restriction had been in place since 21 December 2016. Mt Somers was upgraded to a Level Two restriction on 14 February.   

More information on the district’s water restrictions is available on the Council website.

Page reviewed: 01 Sep 2017 4:58pm