Entries open for TrustPower Community Awards

9/01/2017 12:00 a.m.

Entries open for Ashburton District Community Awards

The once a year opportunity to celebrate and recognise local volunteers has arrived in the Ashburton district.

Entries for the Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards open today (Monday 9 January). The Awards, which are run in partnership with the Ashburton District Council, are open to all voluntary groups and organisations working to make Ashburton and surrounding towns like Methven, Hinds and Rakaia a better place to live.

 Since the Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards began in 2001 more than $82,000 has been given away to voluntary groups and organisations. This year more than $5000 is up for grabs.

 Anyone can enter a voluntary group or organisation for the Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards – groups can even enter themselves.

 Trustpower Community Relations Representative Abbie Siely believes there are still many groups out there who deserve recognition.

 “Ashburton District is teeming with community spirit and ingenuity. Through the Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards we’ve be able to recognise and reward dozens of groups doing amazing work for the benefit of the entire community, but we need your help to uncover the many other groups who deserve their day in the sun.

 Many activities, events, projects, programmes, sports, and services are provided thanks to the region’s hard working volunteers. But often they are not recognised for the invaluable work they do.

 Now you have the chance to say ‘thank you’ to these volunteers, just by filling out an entry form. It takes just a
few minutes to enter a voluntary group, but the recognition from their community will have a lasting impact,”
says Miss Siely.     

 Entry Forms for the Trustpower Community Awards are available from the Council offices or can be completed
online at www.trustpower.co.nz/communityawards.  Entry Forms can also be received by calling Abbie Siely on
0800 87 11 11. 

 The awards cover five categories; Heritage and Environment, Health and Wellbeing, Arts and Culture, Sport and Leisure, and Educational and Child/Youth Development.   Category winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250 and the Supreme Winner will take home $1,500 and an all-expenses paid trip to the 2017 Trustpower National Community Awards. Last year’s Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards Supreme Winner was Community House
Mid Canterbury. 

Entries for the Trustpower Ashburton District Community Awards close at 5pm on Friday 10 March.

For more information contact:
Abbie Siely
Community Relations Representative
T 0800 87 11 11 extension 8153
M 021 276 5319
E abbie@trustpower.co.nz

Page reviewed: 10 Mar 2017 5:00pm