Council appoints three EMC Board Members

4/07/2018 12:00 a.m.

Ashburton District Council has today announced the appointment of three new board members to Experience Mid Canterbury – Sarah Jones, Gareth Reed and Bevan Rickerby.  ​

Applications were sought to fill three vacancies on the board of Experience Mid Canterbury in May. Candidates were short-listed and interviewed by Council and Experience Mid Canterbury last month.

Mayor Donna Favel says each of the successful applicants were of a high calibre and would bring particular skillsets to the Board which would be of great benefit to Experience Mid Canterbury.

"It was impressive meeting and interviewing Sarah, Gareth and Bevan for the Board appointments. They each bring valuable experience, knowledge and skills," she said. "I look forward to seeing them make a positive contribution to promoting our district as a great place to visit".

Experience Mid Canterbury is a Council-Controlled Organisation (CCO) whose role is to ensure the greater Mid-Canterbury region is marketed as a visitor destination to maximise the long-term benefits of the district's economy. EMC Chairman James Urquhart is delighted in the high calibre of applicants who applied.

"We have a strong passion for tourism in our region and the wealth of experience our new board members will bring to our district will only see Mid Canterbury become a stronger and more vibrant region for tourists to visit," he said. 

The new board members will start immediately and have been appointed for three years.​

Page reviewed: 04 Jul 2018 10:53am