Nominations Open for the Community Honours Awards

17/10/2014 8:30 a.m.

Nominations are now being sought for the 2014 Community Honours Awards.

The awards are a way the community can recognise, thank and celebrate local individuals who make a significant contribution to the Ashburton District through their outstanding voluntary service.

Mayor Angus McKay says the awards are the district's opportunity to publicly acknowledge the valuable and important work of our volunteers.

"We have a lot of incredible people who work so selflessly for the benefit of others and it's important to show them how much the community appreciates what they do."

Selecting the recipients from the nominations will be Mayor Angus McKay, councillors Ken Cutforth, Donna Favel and Martin Nordqvist.

 "The awards' sub-committee is looking for individuals who, through their volunteer work, make this community a better place to live and I know there are many people who do this," says Mayor McKay.

Nominations are open until November 13thand volunteers of any age can be nominated. Nominations can be made by organisations, associations, societies or clubs with two members as nominators. The awards will be presented on December 3rd.

The nominee doesn't have to know they've been put forward, but if selected their agreement is required before an award is made. The names and information on those not selected remain confidential.

Mayor McKay says each time the awards are held he learns more and more about the district's dedicated volunteers who not only gift their time but also their knowledge and skills.

"Let's celebrate our wonderful volunteers and their contributions in our community."

Nomination forms can be downloaded or completed online via Council's website or hardcopies can be collected from Council offices.

Learn more about the Community Honours Awards

Page reviewed: 04 Dec 2014 12:47pm