Community Honours Awards

4/12/2014 12:00 a.m.

Eight very deserving locals received a Community Honours Award yesterday (December 3) at a ceremony thanking them for their outstanding voluntary service to the community.

Awards were presented to Patricia Corbett, John Moore, Hazel Glasson, Alistair Wing, Glenn Vallender, Marian Martin, Liz Depree and Marion Brown.

Mayor Angus McKay says the awards recognise the tremendous amount of voluntary work that takes place in our community.

"There is no question that our district is a great place to live because of the tireless efforts of people such as yourselves," Mayor McKay said at the ceremony.

The recipients were nominated by fellow volunteers or people who know them well and see what an important role they play in our community.

The Community Honours Awards is held once during each Council term as a way of publically thanking members of the community who make a significant contribution to the Ashburton District.

"There is no doubt you are all worthy ambassadors of what is good in our community, making a positive difference to the lives of many."

Click here to read about this year's recipients of the 2014 Community Honours Awards.

Page reviewed: 16 Dec 2014 12:02pm