Ashburton Youth Council announced

2/02/2017 4:00 p.m.

​Thursday 2 February, 2017

The 2017 Ashburton Youth Council has appointed their Chairperson, Secretary and Communications Officer in an election held at their first meeting of the year on Wednesday 1 February.

Returning AYC member Alyce Lysaght was elected unopposed as Chairperson, alongside fellow returning member Alisa Ikenaga as Secretary and new member Libby Fenwick as Communications Officer.

They are joined by fellow Youth Councillors Artem Kravchenko, Catheya Bongcawel, Henry Hickman, Hine Wairepo, Marc Juntilla, Mayu Suzuki, Sophie Kettley and Thea Valmores representing this year’s AYC.

“Every one of the Youth Councillors is committed to making this a successful year. We all come with a variety of skills and ideas, which will only strengthen our ability to do the best we can for the youth of this district,” newly elected Chairperson Alyce Lysaght says.

“I’m very humbled to be elected Chairperson, as I’m sure our other appointees are and I’m keen to dive into another great year.”

One of AYC’s first decisions as Youth Council was to adopt their 2017 Strategic Goals, which includes strengthening the link between youth, the community and Ashburton District Council. They plan to hold another Youth Council verses District Council debate and will be leading the co-ordination of the Young Persons Forum later this year.

AYC will also be attending Multicultural Bite on Monday 6 February, helping with Council’s blue Smile Couch as part of the ‘Start with a Smile’ campaign.  

The community can keep up-to-date with the latest AYC news and activities by ‘Liking’ them on Facebook.

Their next meeting will be held on Wednesday 1 March at the Council Administration Building at 5.30pm. 


2017 Ashburton Youth Council
(From left to right, back row) ADC delegate Cr Russell Ellis, Alyce Lysaght, Libby Fenwick, Sophie Kettley, Alisa Ikenaga, Artem Kravchenko and ADC delegate Cr Thelma Bell. (Front row) Marc Juntilla, Hine Wairepo and Maya Suzuki. (Absent, Catheya Bongcawel, Henry Hickman and Thea Valmores.)

Page reviewed: 03 Feb 2017 11:22am