Ashburton District Council Chairs announced

26/10/2016 12:00 a.m.

​Ashburton District Mayor-elect Donna Favel has announced her Deputy Mayor and team of Committee Chairs for the new term of Council.

Councillor Neil Brown has been appointed Deputy Mayor and will also return for his third term as Chair of the Finance and Business Support Committee. His Deputy Chair will be Councillor Leen Braam.

Councillor Stuart Wilson will return as Chair of the Service Delivery Committee, with Councillor Russell Ellis
as Deputy Chair.

The Environmental Services Committee will be Chaired by Councillor Peter Reveley, and Deputy Chair will be Councillor Diane Rawlinson.

"These appointments were carefully considered and I believe we have achieved a balance of experience and diversity," Ashburton District Mayor Donna Favel says.

"With seven new faces around the table, we are lucky to have Councillors Brown and Wilson returning to their Committee Chairs to offer their wealth of experience, and I am confident our new Councillors will work hard to overcome the steep learning curve ahead."

The new Councillors and Mayor underwent two days of induction with Ashburton District Council Chief Executive Andrew Dalziel this week where legislation, a general and financial overview, and important matters for Council and were discussed.

"These Councillors were chosen by the community to represent the District, and I am excited about the enthusiasm all Councillors have shown for starting the new term," Mayor Favel adds.

The new Council will be sworn in at the inaugural meeting on Wednesday 26 October.

Page reviewed: 26 Oct 2016 11:49am