Local Body Elections

​​​​​The next triennial local body electio​ns will be held in October 2019.  Elections will be held for:

1 Mayor
5 councillors to represent the Ashburton Ward
2 councillors to represent the Eastern Ward
2 councillors to represent the Western Ward
5 members to represent the Methven Community Board

6 members to represent the Ashburton Licensing Trust
2 members to represent the Mid Canterbury Constituency of the Canterbury Regional Council (ECan)
7 members to represent the Canterbury District Health Board

In the 2018-19 Representation Review the number of councillors in the Ashburton District reduced from 12 to 9 and some changes were made to ward boundaries.  The Ashburton Ward has been extended and includes the area around Lake Hood.  The boundary between the Eastern and Western Wards was shifted closer to SH1.  

View the ward boundary maps 
Ashburton Ward 
Western / Eastern Wards​
Methven Community Board ​

Key dates for the 2019 elections are:

From 17 July                   Elections will be advertised and nominations called
19 July                               Nominations open
23 July                             ADC Candidate Information Evening - 5.30pm, Council Chamber
16 August                         Nominations close at midday
20 September                 Voter packs mailed to electors. Voting opens
12 October                       Voting closes at midday. Progress result asap thereafter
By 17 October                 ​Official result released
From 17 October           Official result advertised.​

View the candidate handbook for the 2019 election
Nomination forms will be available in early July 2019.

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on council’s electoral roll as a residential elector. If you need to enrol or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll, you can do so at any Post Shop, online at www.elections.org.nz or by phoning 0800 36 76 56.

If you pay rates on property within the council area but live outside that area you may be eligible to enrol as a ratepayer elector. A copy of the ratepayer enrolment form can be downloaded here​.

Further election related documents or links will be available from this page throughout 2019.

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer
Ph 0800 398 683 or email iro@electionz.com

Page reviewed: 17 Jun 2019 1:00pm