

Feedback on the Interim Speed Management Plan

То:	Ashburton District Council
Name of submitter:	Ministry of Education Te Tāhuhu o Te Mātauranga ('the Ministry')
Address for service:	C/-Beca Ltd

Attention:

Danielle Rogers

This is feedback on the Ashburton District Council Interim Speed Management Plan

Background

The Ministry is the Government's lead advisor on the New Zealand education system, shaping direction for education agencies and providers and contributing to the Government's goals for education. The Ministry assesses population changes, school roll fluctuations and other trends and challenges impacting on education provision at all levels of the education network to identify changing needs within the network so the Ministry can respond effectively.

The Ministry has responsibility for all education property owned by the Crown. This involves managing the existing property portfolio, upgrading and improving the portfolio, purchasing and constructing new property to meet increased demand, identifying and disposing of surplus State school sector property and managing teacher and caretaker housing. The Ministry is therefore a considerable stakeholder in terms of activities that may impact on existing and future educational facilities and assets in the Ashburton district.

The Ministry of Education's feedback is:

Speed reductions outside Ashburton schools

The Ministry acknowledges that Ashburton District Council (ADC) has drafted an interim speed management plan (the 'Plan') to transition the district from the past process used to set speed limits to a more flexible approach which recognises the local conditions and environment. The Plan establishes three important principles for speed management in the Ashburton district for the next two years. These three principles include school speed limits, urban fringes and developed urban areas with a high number of active users. The Ministry has an interest in the changes to school speed limits.

The Plan proposes the reduction of speed limits at most Ashburton schools¹ to 30km/h for the purpose of decreasing the chance of crashes occurring and reducing the severity if they do occur. The Plan proposes a 60km/h variable speed limit for some rural schools² due to high average vehicle speeds next to the school. The variable speed limit means that the speed limit can change due to the road driving conditions. The lower speed limit (60km/h) will be in play while children are at school.

The Ministry notes ADC's statement that "research shows that speed limits in school zones are most effective between 300-500m long" as drivers tend to slow down and it recognises that the school zones proposed are generally between 300-500m.

The Ministry acknowledges that several schools³ have not been included in the interim speed management plan as they share the frontage with the State Highway. The speed limit outside these schools will change when Waka Kotahi produces their speed management plan.

The Ministry's position on the Plan

The proposed reduction in speed limits will have a positive effect on the aforementioned Ashburton schools by providing a safer speed environment for students and staff. Therefore, the Ministry is supportive of the Plan and the proposed speed reductions outside schools in the Ashburton District. The Plan not only improves vehicle user safety, but also the safety of pedestrians and users of active modes of transport commuting to and from school.

Decision sought

The Ministry agree with the introduction of lower speed limits outside of Ashburton Schools and is supportive of the Plan in its current form.

The Ministry wishes to be heard in support of its submission.

Danielle Rogers Planner- Beca Ltd (Consultant to the Ministry of Education) Date: 14 October 2022

² Carew Peel Forest School, Dorie School, Lagmhor School, Longbeach School and Wakanui School

¹ Allenton School, Ashburton Borough School, St Joseph's School, Ashburton Christian School, Ashburton College, Ashburton Intermediate, Chertsey School, Fairton School, Hampsted School, Hinds School, Lauriston School, Mayfield School, Mt Somers Springburn School, Netherby School, Rakaia School and Tinwald School

³ Methven School, Mt Hutt College and Our Lady of the Snows Schools