## NOTICE OF 2025 TRIENNIAL LOCAL AUTHORITY ELECTIONS

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 11 October 2025.

## **Ashburton District Council**

(First Past the Post Electoral System)

Election of the mayor

Election of five councillors for the Ashburton Ward

Election of two councillors for the Eastern Ward

Election of two councillors for the Western Ward

Election of five members for the Methven Community Board

Election of six members for the Braided Rivers Community Trust

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers.

## **Nominations**

Nominations for the listed positions open on **Friday 4 July 2025** and must be made on the appropriate nomination form for each position. Nomination forms and a candidate information handbook can be found either on the Ashburton District Council elections website – <a href="https://www.voteashburton.nz">www.voteashburton.nz</a>, or by request to the electoral officer via the contact options listed below. Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than **12 noon on Friday 1 August 2025**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or online banking (see nomination form for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph with their nomination, for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in the candidate handbook which is available with the nomination forms. All nomination documents must be lodged at the same time.

## **Electoral Rolls**

Preliminary electoral rolls for these elections can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Friday 4 July 2025 to Friday 1 August 2025.

- Te Whare Whakatere, Ashburton District Council office, 2 Baring Square East, Ashburton
- Te Kete Tuhinga, Ashburton Library, 2 Baring Square East, Ashburton
- Café Mayfield, 1992 Arundel Rakaia Gorge Road, Mayfield
- Methven i-Hub, 160 Main Street, Methven
- Rakaia Mobil, SH1, Rakaia

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

- Online at www.vote.nz
- By texting your name and address to 3676, calling 0800 36 76 56, or by emailing enquiries@elections.govt.nz to ask for a form to be sent to you

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 1 August 2025.

You can still enrol after this time; however, you will need to cast a special vote. Locations and hours for community voting sessions will be published closer to the voting period.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the Ashburton District Council electoral officer before 5pm Friday 1 August 2025. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal: <a href="https://www.electionz.com/ratepayer">www.electionz.com/ratepayer</a>

Anthony Morton	Phillipa Clark
Electoral Officer – Ashburton District Council	Deputy Electoral Officer – Ashburton District Council
PO Box 3138 Christchurch 8140	2 Baring Square East, Ashburton
ashburtondc@electionz.com	elections@adc.govt.nz
0800 666 048	03 307 7774
www.ashburtondc.govt.nz	www.voteashburton.nz