

Community Roading Reference Group

Notice of Meeting

A meeting of the Community Roading Reference Group will be held on:

Date: Thursday 18 April 2024

Time: 9am

Venue: Council Chamber (First floor), Te Whare Whakatere

2 Baring Square East, Ashburton

Membership

Ashburton District Council - Mayor Neil Brown (ex officio)

- Cr Carolyn Cameron (Chair)

Cr Rob MackleCr Tony Todd

- Cr Richard Wilson

- Neil McCann (Group Manager Infrastructure & Open

Spaces)

- Jeremy Lambert (Roading Engineer North)

- Ashein Abeysekara (Roading Engineer South)

Community Representatives - David Acland

- Jim Crouchley

- Dave Dynes

- Mark Johnson

- Dean Pye

- Mark Slee

- Mark Wareing

Meeting Timetable

Time Item

9am Reference Group meeting commences

1 Apologies

- Crs Rob Mackle and Richard Wilson; Jim Crouchley.

2 Extraordinary Business

3 Group Member introductions

Members' introductions and their views of the future demands on the network.

4 Adoption of Terms of Reference

Draft terms of reference appended

Recommendation to Council

That the Community Roading Reference Group terms of reference be adopted.

5 Presentation from Roading Engineers

Network overview, how work is identified and prioritised, forward works programme, monitoring of work, unsealed road condition assessment, etc.

6 General Discussion

ADC web: network information, forward works programme etc https://www.ashburtondc.govt.nz/services/transport

7 Next meeting

Scheduled for Tuesday 26 November 2024.



Community Roading Reference Group

(Draft) Terms of Reference

Purpose

To be a reference group for Council to share information, provide feedback, comment and suggestions on programmes, budgets, levels of service and other relevant information related to land transport in the Ashburton district to assist getting value for money and seek service level improvement for the roading network.

Membership

The Community Roading Reference Group will be comprised of the following:

- four elected representatives
- up to three representative rural landowners
- two more representatives of the heavy transport sector
- a representative from Federated Farmers
- a representative from NZ Post
- a representative for school bus operators
- Council staff

Functions of the Community Roading Reference Group

The Community Roading Reference Group will meet periodically with Council elected representatives, Council staff and contractors to consider the following with respect to roading in the Ashburton district:

- rural and urban roading issues
- levels of service for both the sealed and unsealed roading network
- network safety (traffic management)
- network maintenance and improvements
- network hierarchy
- roading priorities (maintenance, funding and development)
- budgeting and funding
- advocate SH1 and SH77 issues

The Community Roading Reference Group is NOT able to:

- direct for or against maintenance or upgrading of individual roads
- make final programming or budgeting decisions

The Community Roading Reference Group meetings will be facilitated by the Roading Manager.

Membership of the Community Roading Reference Group would not preclude individuals from making personal submissions on land transport matters to annual plans, long term plans or other Council statutory documents or processes.

Members

Cr Carolyn Cameron – Chair Cr Richard Wilson Cr Tony Todd Cr Rob Mackle Mayor Neil Brown (ex officio)

Fonterra Mark Slee mark@melrosedairy.nz Dean Pye Local Farmer pyeproduce@xtra.co.nz Jim Crouchley jim@transporting.nz Transporting NZ **Transport Company** Mark Wareing mark@philipwareing.co.nz Federated Farmers David Acland david@mtsomersstation.co.nz NZ Post Mark Johnson mark.johnson2@nzpost.co.nz **Travel Companies** Dave Dynes dave@methventravel.co.nz

Mark Chamberlain – Roading Manager Jeremy Lambert – Roading Engineer North Ashein Abeysekara – Roading Engineer South

Adopted by Council .../.../2024